These are the 5 Things I do every night before bed: Why you should develop a night routine

nightroutine

You set your alarm for 6:00 a.m. because you wanted to go to the gym before work, or maybe you wanted to actually enjoy your cup of coffee and browse Pinterest while waking up instead of starting your day rushed. But nevertheless your ‘just one snooze’ turned into 5 and you spent an hour of your morning sleeping between alarms just to frantically rush out of bed to make it on time. Sound familiar? I’m sure.

Whether we realize it or not, the majority of us probably had some type of bedtime routine as children. Dinner, bath time, story time, lights out. But somewhere in college between pulling all nighters, t-shirt Tuesdays, and midnight pizza runs – our sleep schedule most likely fell off track.

Harvard Medical School conducted a study on sleep routines and found that they did 2 important things:

  1. A schedule of a relaxing bedtime routine can prevent minor sleep problems and behavior problems. (Think – impatience, laziness, ‘barking’ at someone for no reason?)
  2. A consistent bedtime routine keeps your internal clock in check – helping you fall asleep and wake more easily.

I thrive off of my bedtime routine – it creates schedule, consistency, and peace in my evenings (and mornings!) Here are some things that I do every night

1. Tea Time

I try and kill 2 birds with 1 stone here and mix warm apple cider vinegar with bedtime/calming tea + lemon juice. I do this at about 8:30 / 9:00 pm when I am trying to tell my body to wind down.

2. Olly Vitamins

I take Olly Restful Sleep vitamins every night before bed. I am rarely a product repeater, but I buy more every time I am about to run out. They are amazing for helping me fall asleep and stay asleep without having that ‘sleep hangover’ feeling in the morning. These are a must try! I only take 1 instead of 2 because that is all I need and it helps the bottle last longer. For me, it only takes about 30 minutes to kick in.

3. Nighttime Skincare Routine

Right after I take my sleep vitamin I do my night time skincare  routine, which basically consists of me taking off my makeup, cleansing, moisturizing, etc. It makes me feel fresh and relaxed before I get in bed.

4. Essential Oil Diffuser

I love using my aromatherapy diffuser throughout the day, especially at night. I have a special sleep blend from Eden’s Garden that I use at night to get me in a more relaxed state before bed.

5. Consistency

I get in bed at 9:30 p.m. most every night, (i know – grandma status) it helps me fall asleep at the same time every night, which in turn help me wake up at the same time every morning. I wake up at 6:15 every morning. Sometimes I get up and go to the gym, and sometimes I enjoy the extra time to drink coffee and have some ‘me’ time – but getting in bed and waking up at the same time helps me keep a routine and schedule, making it easier to fall asleep and wake up!

Of course, find your rhythm – it may be a book, a drink, a bath, but whatever it is – getting into that routine will help your nights more peaceful and your mornings come easier.

 

Skyy + Co. is a lifestyle brand that includes daily Instagram posts, lifestyle blog posts, and an online jewelry boutique.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

